18 September 2017, Alumni

In terms of the international distribution of locally-funded and locally-produced South African films, THE SUIT is surpassed in scope only by the Oscar-winning feature TSOTSI.

Photo by Jurgen Marx www.jurgenmarx.com

THE SUIT directed by AFDA Johannesburg alumnus Jarryd Coetsee and produced by alumnus Luke Sharland, and which also included 28 AFDA alumni and students in key positions on the crew has been shown at film festivals in 83 cities and towns in 28 countries. It won South Africa’s national film award, the SAFTA, for Best Short Film, as well as the Best International Short & Best of the Festival Awards at the Oscar-qualifying BronzeLens Film Festival of Atlanta. THE SUIT was selected by France’s Académie des Arts et Téchniques du Cinéma as one of the best short films of the year, acknowledged by UNICEF at its headquarters in Paris. Not only did it win Best Short Film at the Scotland African Film Festival (Africa in Motion) of Edinburgh & Glasgow, the Audience Award at the Cape Town leg of the Shnit International Film Festival of Switzerland, but it also received Special Jury Recognition at the Oscar-qualifying Pan-African Film Festival of Los Angeles, one of three Oscar-qualifying festivals for which it was selected, and a Special Jury Mention at the Zanzibar International Film Festival.

Congratulations to the cast and crew on such considerable achievements.

AFDA Alumni and students on The Suit Crew List:

Producer Luke Sharland: AFDA Alumni

Director/ Writer Jarryd Coetsee: AFDA Alumni

1st AD Reinhard Delport: AFDA Alumni

Production Manager Perrin Faerch: AFDA Alumni

D.O.P Briony Macloed: AFDA Alumni

Focus Puller/1st AC Luke Gordon: AFDA Alumni

Steadicam Operator/Grips Werner Nortje: AFDA Alumni

Editor Benard Bruwer: AFDA Alumni

Online Editor Karien Von Biljon: AFDA Hon Student

Art Director Devin Risely: AFDA Alumni

Production Designer Devin Risely: AFDA Alumni

Visual Effects Matt Coxon: 3rd Year Student

Sound Designer Justin Shepperson: AFDA Alumni

Composer Daniel Martins: AFDA Alumni

Post Sound Designer Nico Theomides AFDA Alumni

Marnus Maritz DIT/Colourist AFDA Hon Student

Darren Parker 2nd AD AFDA Hon Student

Tamsyn Hobbs CMS Assist AFDA Hon Student

Rainer Duve Edit Assist AFDA Hon Student

Anna Sophia Van Der Merwe Edit/Continuity AFDA Hon Student

Karien Von Biljon AD/Edit AFDA Hon Student

Kelly Ryan Production Assist AFDA Hon Student

David Wayne Smith AD/EPK Director AFDA Hon Student

Noxolo Lushozi Cine Assist AFDA Alumni


Additional Assistants

Kira Wolf Production Assistant 3rd Year Student

Afrika Majola Art Department Assist 3rd Year Student


The Suit Crew Intern List

Dean Mbamba Cine  Assist/Grips 3rd Year Student

Unathi Fani Production Assistant 3rd Year Student

Werner Nortjie Key Grip/ Steady Cam op 3rd Year Student

Jasmine Coryndon–?Baker 2nd AC 3rd Year Student




AFDA is the South African School of Motion Picture Medium and Live Performance, and is registered with the Department of Higher Education and Training as a private higher education institution under the Higher Education Act, 1997. Registration certificate no. 2001/HE07/012.

Explore AFDA