14 November 2017, News

Three AFDA 2016 graduate films took all three awards up for grabs at the Africa International Film Festival 2017 (AFRIFF) held in in Port Harcourt, Nigeria. The AFDA Cape Town 3rd year film, The Fall, directed by Ethan Storm won the Best Student Short Film award, AFDA Johannesburg 4th year honours film, The Final Border, directed by David Wayne Smith received the Special Mention Award and the 3rd year AFDA Cape Town animation film, Husse Met Lang Ore, directed by Alme Swart picked up the Best Student Animation Film award.  

AFRIFF is a world class showcase that presents a complete immersion into the world of film making with participation from local and international filmmakers and professionals, celebrities, actors, directors, film critics, buyers, distributors, visual artists, film students, amateurs, equipment manufacturers, and international press.

Maintaining its inaugural theme “Africa Unites”, the vision is to raise awareness in Africa about the vast potential the entertainment industry holds and the impact it can generate in the economy. To establish bridges for partnership with international counterparts to ensure quality, expertise and global standards access the local industry, accelerating its sustainable development. AFRIFF also aims to re-establish Africa’s significance as the original birth home of civilization and indeed the last frontier for unique film stories and content development.

The weeklong event is set to become Africa’s new exciting annual destination for fantastic film experience and celebration every November, comprising a top class film programme; talent development and technical training series aimed at raising local industry standards; business sessions and networking opportunities, as well as a unique Film and Equipment market that will encourage and grow content trade out of Africa and global partnerships.

Since its inaugural edition, hosted in Port Harcourt, Nigeria in 2010, the Festival has brought together:

More than 2000 industry guests, more than 500 workshop participants, 500 + international entries from professional and amateur filmmakers around the world.

Guests celebrities such as Lynn Whitfield, Tchina Arnold, Rockmond Dunbar, Malcom Jamal-Warner, Giancarlo Esposito, Eriq Ebounaey, Hakeem Kae Kazeem, Agbani Darego, and Chris Aire.

See more about the festival here:


AFDA is the South African School of Motion Picture Medium and Live Performance, and is registered with the Department of Higher Education and Training as a private higher education institution under the Higher Education Act, 1997. Registration certificate no. 2001/HE07/012.

Explore AFDA