AFDA news.


AFDA score a record 46 nominations at SAFTA’s 2017 ‘let’s celebrate it’

February 21, 2017 1:22 pm

The impact of AFDA staff, students and alumni on the South African entertainment industry is clearly illustrated in the record number of nominations they have received for the SAFTA’s 2017 – A massive 46 in all the different award categories and disciplines.

Daryne Joshua’s film “Noem My Skollie”, his debut feature film, received 10 nominations while Brett Michael Innes’ debut feature film, “Sink” enjoys 8 nominations. All 3 nominations for Best Achievement in Cinematography – Feature Film, go to AFDA alumni – Tom Marais (Hatchet Hour), Adam Bentel (Modder en Bloed) and Trevor Calverley (Sink).

“I am so proud of my team. Congratulations to all our other colleagues on their nominations. It’s encouraging to see that the quality of the SAFTA submissions is improving every year. Let’s keep raising the bar as an industry South Africa!” says Brett Michael Innes.

AFDA Cape Town, 3rd year 2015 student film, “The Locket”, directed by Jordy Sank is nominated in The Best Student Film category.

In 2005 representatives of the South African Film and Television industry resolved to come together with guidance from the National Film and Video Foundation of South Africa (NFVF) to establish the annual South African Film and Television Awards, the SAFTAs. The Awards honour, celebrate and promote the creativity, quality and excellence of South African Film and Television talent and productions, and serve to encourage entrepreneurship and the development of new talent within the industry.

Each award recipient is presented with a trophy, the ‘Golden Horn’, which has three heads symbolising collective effort, community, and the recognition of the individual as part of a team – an experience inherent to the film and television industry where collaboration is the cornerstone of successful productions. There have been ten sessions of the awards to date with each giving over 70 awards.

The awards will take place on 16-18 March 2017 in Sun City. The audience can watch the live show on 18 March on SABC 2 at 8pm. With the awards being in their 11th year of celebrating growth and talent, the 11th annual SAFTAs have been themed ‘SA’s got it – let’s celebrate it’ which is a well-suited vision of looking towards setting higher goals for the South African film and television industry.

Congratulations to all our nominees!!!

  • Best Achievement in Editing – Documentary Short: Conroy Esterhuizen “South African Heroes – Theresa Gwala”
  • Best Achievement in Editing – Wildlife Programme: Candice Odgers “Soul of the Elephant”
  • Best Achievement in Cinematography – Wildlife Programme: Lee Jackson “Incredible Spiders”
  • Best Student Film – “The Locket”: Jordy Sank
  • Best Short Film – “The Suit”: Jaryd Coetsee
  • Best Youth Programme – “MTV Base meet Bill Gates”: Tia Productions/Taryne Lee Crossman
  • Best Achievement in Directing – TV Drama: Jozua Malherbe “Bloedbroers”
  • Best Achievement in Cinematography – TV Drama: Adam Bentel “Bloedbroers”, Jonathan de la Querra “Saints and Sinners Season 2”
  • Best Achievement in Post Production Editing – TV Drama: Melanie Golden “Heist Season 1”
  • Best TV Soap/Telenovela: Rous House Productions “High Rollers”, The Bomb Shelter Film Company “Isibaya”
  • Best Achievement in Directing – TV Soap/Telenovela: Quinton Krog, Jozua Malherbe and Darryl Evan Fuchs “High Rollers”
  • Best Achievement in Scriptwriting – TV Soap/Telenovela: Meren Reddy “High Rollers”
  • Best Achievement in Post Production Editing – TV Soap/Telenovela: Jack Esterhuizen “Isibaya”, Julian Thomas “The Road”
  • Best Achievement in Art Direction – TV Soap/Telenovela: Dylan Lloyd “Isibaya” and “The Road”
  • Best Actor – TV Soap/Telenovela: Justin Strydom “High Rollers”
  • Best Achievement in Directing – TV Comedy: Stiaan Smith “Hotel”, Alex Fynn “Puppet Nation ZA NEWS”, Zee Ntuli “Those Who Can’t”
  • Best Achievement in Scriptwriting – TV Comedy: Stiaan Smith “Hotel”
  • Best Achievement in Post Production Editing – TV Comedy: Nicolai Groudev “Puppet Nation ZA NEWS”
  • Best Achievement in Wardrobe, Make up Hair – TV Comedy: Cheney Van Graan “Puppet Nation ZA NEWS”
  • Best Feature Film: “Noem My Skollie”, “Sink”
  • Best Achievement in Directing – Feature Film: Daryne Joshua “Noem My Skollie”, Brett Michael Innes “Sink”
  • Best Achievement in Scriptwriting – Feature Film: Brett Michael Innes “Sink”
  • Best Achievement in Editing – Feature Film: Simon Beesley “Noem My Skollie”, Brett Michael Innes “Sink”
  • Best Achievement in Cinematography – Feature Film: Tom Marais “Hatchet Hour”, Adam Bentel “Modder en Bloed”, Trevor Calverley “Sink”
  • Best Achievement in Original Music/Score – Feature Film: Quin Lubbe “Modder en Bloed”
  • Best Achievement in Sound Design – Feature Film: Jim Petrak “Modder en Bloed”
  • Best Achievement in Costume Design – Feature Film: Emma Moss “Noem My Skollie”
  • Best Actress – Feature Film: Shoki Mokgabe “Sink”
  • Best TV Presenter: Sivuyile Ngesi “The Man Cave Season 4”, Katlego Maboe “Expresso”
  • Most Popular TV Soap: “Isibaya”, “Uzalo Season 2”, “Suidooster”, “High Rollers”

To find out more about the nominees:


SHARE POSTShare on Facebook0Tweet about this on Twitter0Email this to someone
Job Opportunity-01


AFDA (The South African School of Motion...

Alumni at Work-01

AFDA alumni in Mail and Guardian 200 Young South Africans 2017

Siphiwe (SJ) Myeza-Mhlambi The career of...


AFDA students, staff and alumni find joy at ZIFF 2017

On Saturday 15th July at the Zanzibar In...